The AIM Independent Music Awards 2022 have announced winners for this year’s award event and it includes Rina Sawayama, Lethal Bizzle, Wet Leg and Nova Twins, and more.

The AIM Independent Music Awards honour labels and musicians that have contributed significantly to the growth of the independent music industry.

Wet Leg was announced as the winner for UK Independent Breakthrough award, with Nove Twins taking the award for Best Independent Track.

Other winners in other categories include Corey Johnson, Rough, Mitski, Jeshi, Blxst, TAAHLIAH, Cleo Sol, Nilüfer Yanya, Champion, and Nia Archives. Artists recognized for their efforts in the industry includes Stormzy, Rina Sawayama, Lethal Bizzle, and The Libertines.

Stormzy, who was awarded for inspiring a larger audience through his charitable organizations, the #Merky Foundation and #Merky Books, said in his acceptance speech:

“I encourage everyone in the room today to not just use diversity as a buzzword, whatever role you play, to really be a driving factor in it, not just see it as a quota or a box to tick but really see the worth.”

For her acclaimed show, Mitski won the Best Live Performer award with over 29,000 votes from fans across the category, while British DJ D.O.D won the PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist.

Local Action won Best Boutique Label for their innovative and inspiring communal concept in dance music after marking their tenth anniversary this year.

See below for the full list of AIM Independent Music Awards 2022 winners:

Diversity Champion – Stormzy

Best Independent Album in association with Spotify – Cleo Sol, Mother (Forever Living Originals)

Best Independent Track in association with Meta – Nova Twins, Antagonist (Marshall Records)

UK Independent Breakthrough in association with YouTube music – Wet Leg (Domino Recording Company)

International Breakthrough in association with Deezer – Blxst (Red Bull Records)

Best Live Perfomer – Mitski (Dead Oceans)

Best [Difficult] Second Album in association with BBC 6 Music – Nilüfer Yanya, Painless (ATO Records)

Innovator Award in association with Amazon Music – Rina Sawayama

Outstanding Contribution to Music in association with Merlin – Lethal Bizzle

Special Recognition – The Libertines (Rough Trade)

Best Independent EP/Mixtape – Taahliah, Angelica

Best Independent Remix – Champion remix of Ibeyi, Lavender & Red Roses ft. Jorja Smith (XL Recordings)

One To Watch in association with BBC Introducing – Nia Archives (HIJINXX)

Best Independent Video in association with VEVO – Jeshi, 3210 (Because Music)

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist – D.O.D (Axtone Records)

Best Creative Campaign in association with Able – Maylee Todd, Maloo campaign from Stones Throw Records

Best Independent Label – Rough Trade Records

Best Boutique Label – Local Action

Independent Champion in association with MCPS – Kenny Gates and Michel Lambot of [PIAS]

Music Entrepreneur Of The Year – Corey Johnson, CEO & Founder of Defenders Ent.